May 29, 2009

FATHER FIGURES. FATHER FIGURES EVERYWHERE.

Whenever I get worried or upset, I can talk to my boyfriend, and he helps calm down my fears.

He said that in many ways, I am just waking up to being an adult, and that is true. It’s because of my upbringing. And… he said it’s not my fault. It was so good to hear him say that.

Luckily, he is a daddy of a 10-year-old girl. He loves being a daddy to her, and much of his nurturing and caring is given to me, too. He kind-of fulfills that father role that I wanted in my life.

I look for fathers everywhere. Every older man is a potential father figure to me.

And with my child-like spirit inside, I fulfill a need within him because he never got to be the father he wanted to be. Sure, he still sees his daughter on the weekends, but it’s not the same as being more involved in her day-to-day life.

So, we balance each other out. Plus, he uses his rational side to help calm me down when I get worried or upset.

Leave a Reply

