January 18, 2010

I love you.
I trust you.
Etc.

I thought that by saying these things, it would make it true.

My parents, I feel, often said things but their actions didn’t back up their words. Just by saying that you love me doesn’t make it true. Actions need to reflect and be consistent with the words. I need to reverse what I learned from my parents and not be so hasty to have The Ultimate Relationship. Much of the fun can be found in building up to love.

I used to think that if I didn’t love the guy within a few weeks of first meeting him, then there’s no point in continuing any sort of relationship. But now I know that love can sometimes take its time to develop, even over a few years.

Leave a Reply

