April 9, 2010

Friday, April 9, 2010

Healing the Shame That Binds You, by John Bradshaw

“Schools and prisons are the only places where time is more important than the job to be done.”

“…the true test of intelligence is not what you know or can regurgitate from memory on an exam. It’s not what you know how to do, but ‘what you do when you don’t know what to do.’

I stood up to my boss. It was scary, but I do not regret the experience. I’m getting better at verbal communication. I still sometimes start to obsess about my boss and the work situation, but I try to remind myself to just focus on me and my healing. Everyone else can focus on themselves. I do not accept blame for my boss’ feelings, thoughts, reactions, actions, etc. She is responsible for herself, just like I am responsible for me. She tries to blame me for what she does, but I don’t accept that at all. She is in charge of herself. But I don’t have to worry about that. Her soul will learn, just like my soul is learning. I still want to leave that job, but I’m also grateful for the lessons I’ve learned and the personal growth.

Leave a Reply

